St. George Misdemeanor Lawyer
One-on-One Legal Representation You Can Rely On in Southern Utah
While misdemeanor crimes are relatively less serious than felonies, they can still result in harsh penalties. If you have been charged with a misdemeanor offense, it is important that you speak to a criminal defense attorney right away.
Representing Misdemeanor Offenses
As your St. George misdemeanor lawyer, I can help you understand your options, protect your rights, and build a solid defense on your behalf. I have spent more than 33 years defending individuals throughout Utah in all manner of criminal charges and have personally handled over 100 jury trials. I understand that good people sometimes find themselves in bad situations, and I am prepared to help you work toward the best possible outcome for your case.
Get in touch with St. George misdemeanor attorney Edward D. Flint today to discuss your case during a free consultation. Call (435) 740-8460 to get started.
What Is Considered a Misdemeanor?
Many offenses can be charged as misdemeanors. DUIs, shoplifting, marijuana and paraphernalia possession, domestic violence charges, and more serious traffic crimes can all be prosecuted as misdemeanors, as well as things like dog-at-large and licensing issues.
In many cases, people who do not live in the area find themselves facing misdemeanor charges. If this is the case, you need a St. George defense attorney to appear in court for you so you don't have to travel back for each court hearing.
Misdemeanor Classification in Utah
Like felonies, misdemeanors in Utah are categorized according to degree.
These Classifications Are as Follows:
- Class A Misdemeanors: Punishable by up to one year in jail and/or up to $2,500 in fines
- Class B Misdemeanors: Punishable by up to six months in jail and/or up to $1,000 in fines
- Class C Misdemeanors: Punishable by up to 90 days in jail and/or up to $750 in fines or compensatory service
How Long Does a Misdemeanor Stay On Your Record?
Under Utah’s Clean Slate Law, certain misdemeanors can be automatically removed from your record depending on the crime and previous convictions. This includes the majority of Class B and C misdemeanor charges as well as Class A drug possession charges.
Class B misdemeanors can be expunged 6 years after the conviction was made, while Class C misdemeanors can be removed 5 years after the verdict. Class A drug possession charges typically aren’t expunged until 7 years after the conviction.
Request a Free Consultation Today
As your St. George misdemeanor attorney, I can help you navigate the legal system from start to finish. If you do not live in or nearby, I can appear in court on your behalf to save you the hassle of traveling to the area for each hearing. If you are a resident of Southern Utah in St. George, Hurricane, or Cedar City, I can also assist you in creating a defense aimed at protecting your rights and freedoms. At my firm, I offer personalized, one-on-one legal guidance and attentive representation. I am here to answer your questions, address your concerns, and fight tirelessly for you.
Contact St. George misdemeanor lawyer Edward D. Flint online or call (435) 740-8460 for a free consultation. All calls are returned within 24 hours and I am always available to assist my clients.
Choose the right attorneyStrong Defense in Your Corner
- More than Three Decades of Experience
- Experience with Over 100 Jury Trials
- Trustworthy Reputation in the Legal Community
- Reasonable Payment Plans Available
it can't wait
It all starts with a consultation, no obligations.
Fill out a form or call today to speak with my firm.