St. George Domestic Violence Lawyer
Understanding Domestic Violence Charges in Washington County
Many people don’t realize that, in the eyes of the law, a domestic violence charge does not necessarily involve bodily harm; something such as punching a hole through your own wall during an argument could result in domestic violence charges.
And, if you are convicted, you could face serious penalties that may threaten a number of your freedoms , specifically your First Amendment rights to possess firearms. So, if you have been accused of domestic violence, it is in your best interests to speak to a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.
What Is Domestic Violence?
Under the laws in Utah, the term "domestic violence" can be defined as a pattern of abusive or aggressive habits in a relationship that is used by one partner to gain or maintain power and control over another intimate partner. Domestic violence can be abusive emotionally, sexually, or psychologically to the victim.
Can Domestic Violence Charges Be Dropped in Utah?
The truth is that only the state of Utah can drop domestic violence charges against a defendant. A domestic violence victim can claim with prosecutors to drop the criminal charges, and the prosecutors may consider the victim's request; however, ultimately, it comes down to the prosecutors' decision.
As your St. George domestic violence lawyer, I draw on more than 33 years in practice and the experience I have gained from handling over 100 jury trials in order to build a solid defense on your behalf. I am consistently available for my clients, providing 24/7 accessibility and returning all calls within 24 hours, no matter what.
What Are Utah’s Penalties for Domestic Violence?
The penalties for a domestic violence conviction in Utah are very harsh. What’s more, prosecutors often receive special funding to pursue these types of cases and, in many instances, will seek the maximum penalty possible. The prosecution has police, victim advocates, and financial incentives to convict you. That’s why you need a St. George domestic violence lawyer to fight for your rights.
In Utah, the Penalties for a Domestic Violence Conviction Include:
- Inability to purchase/own a firearm
- Inability to purchase/own ammunition
- Inability to contact the person who has brought the charges
- Restricted child visitation/custody
- Jail term of up to a year on a misdemeanor
- Supervised Probation
- Required expensive evaluations and classes
In addition to criminal penalties, you may face serious social consequences if you are convicted of domestic violence. A criminal record is public and can be accessed by any potential future employer, landlord, or any other individual or entity.
Each case is different, and the exact penalties you may face are subject to the specific factors involved in your situation, including whether you are charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, if a child was present at the time of the alleged incident, and whether or not you have any prior convictions.
Contact Edward D. Flint for a Free Consultation
In Utah, domestic violence is a broad term covering a wide range of offenses, including violating a protective order. Furthermore, law enforcement may arrest an individual without a warrant if he or she has probable cause to believe domestic violence has taken place.
Why Choose Us?
- As your trusted St. George domestic violence defense attorney, I will work to ensure your rights are protected.
- Due to my extensive trial experience, I have earned a great reputation with local judges and prosecutors and can use this to your advantage.
- I am committed to providing my clients with personalized and empathetic legal attention while simultaneously fighting tirelessly for their futures.
- More than Three Decades of Experience
- Experience with Over 100 Jury Trials
- Trustworthy Reputation in the Legal Community
- Reasonable Payment Plans Available